

Child Care and Lead Poisoning Prevention Webinar FAQs

1. Where can I find the webinar recording and webinar slides?

The webinar recording and slides will be posted on the <u>VDH Lead Safe Child Care</u> <u>Centers</u> webpage.

2. How do I get on the waitlist for the VDH School and Child Care Lead Testing and Reduction Grant?

Contact the VDH School and Child Care Lead Testing and Reduction Grant program staff at <u>leadtestingprogram@vdh.virginia.gov</u>

3. What educational materials do you have available for parents and caregivers about lead poisoning prevention?

We have many different lead poisoning prevention educational materials available on our VDH Lead Safe <u>educational materials</u> webpage. Many of these materials are also available in multiple languages.

4. Where can I find more information about <u>§ 22.1-289.057</u> of the Code of Virginia (the law requiring all licensed child day programs, religious exempt child day centers that serve preschool age children, and certified preschools to test potable drinking water)?

The Department of Education has many excellent resources located on their <u>Child Care</u> <u>VA webpage</u> under "Testing Potable Water for Lead."

5. What does the VDH Childhood Lead Poisoning Prevention Program do?

The Childhood Lead Poisoning Prevention Program (CLPPP) within VDH's Division of Prevention and Health Promotion at VDH's Central Office is a CDC-funded program. The program provides:

- Surveillance and analysis of reported blood lead levels in children less than 16 years of age
- Education and outreach to parents, communities, and health professionals about childhood lead poisoning and prevention, and
- Oversight to providers and local health department staff on screening, testing, and case management for children exposed to lead

6. Which children in Virginia should get a blood lead test?



Virginia is a targeted blood lead testing state, meaning all children that fall under a specified set of risk criteria should get a blood lead test at ages 12 and 24 months, or up to 72 months if they have not yet received a blood lead test. The full set of risk criteria can be found on the VDH Lead Safe website under <u>Health Care Providers</u>.

7. Does the VDH CLPPP do blood lead testing?

The CLPPP is unable to fund or conduct blood lead testing. Parents seeking blood lead testing for their child should talk to their health care provider. Select local health departments may provide blood lead testing for families without insurance or without a primary care provider.