
From birth until 2 years old or until 
�they reach the rear-facing car seat’s 
�weight or height limit

m   �I know that Virginia Law requires rear-facing car 
seats to be used in the back seat and never in 
front of an active airbag.

m   �The car seat is buckled tightly in the car, using the 
vehicle seat belt or LATCH. It does not move more 
than one inch when I pull on it. 

m   �The car seat sits at the 
correct angle �as stated in 
the car seat manual.

m   �The harness straps are 
snug, straight, flat, �and 
are routed through the 
slots that are �level with or 
below the shoulders. 

m   �The chest clip is at the 
same level as �the armpits. �

m   �I do not use accessories that did not come with 
the seat (pads, mirrors, toys, etc.) 

Virginia Law requires all children to 
be properly secured in a car seat or booster seat 
until at least age 8. There is no minimum weight 
or height limit associated with the law. Consider 
keeping your 8-12 year old in a booster seat until 
they fit correctly in a seat belt.

Once they are over age 2 �or have 
outgrown the rear-facing car �seat’s 
weight or height limit

m   �I know that my child is safer 
when riding in the back seat. 

m   �The car seat is buckled 
tightly in the car, using the 
vehicle seat belt or LATCH. 
It does not move more than 
one inch when I pull on it. 

m   �I use the correct forward-
facing belt path to secure 
the seat to the vehicle.

m   �The tether strap is attached 
to the  correct vehicle anchor point, as stated in 
the vehicle owner’s manual. 

m   �The harness straps are snug, straight, flat, �and 
are routed through the slots that are �level with 
or above the shoulders. 

m   �The chest clip is at the same level as �the armpits.�

Don’t let cost  
stand in your way!
If you are a resident of Virginia and are not able to 
afford a car seat or booster seat for your child, you 
may qualify for free assistance from the Virginia 
Department of Health. Call 1-800-732-8333 or visit 
safetyseatva.org to learn more.
�

Once they have outgrown the 
forward-facing car seat’s weight �or 
height limit

m   ��I know that my child is safer when riding in the 
back seat.

m   ��My child is secured in the booster seat by a lap 
AND shoulder belt. 

m   �The lap belt sits low and 
snug on his/her thighs, not 
on the stomach.

m   �The shoulder belt lies across 
the middle of the chest, not  
on the neck, under the arm,  
or behind the back.

m   �The seat belt is snug, flat,  
and comfortable. 

m   ��I only use a backless booster 
seat when the vehicle seat has 
a headrest. 

Need help with  
car seat installation?
Find a Virginia Safety Seat Check Station to 
have your car seat checked by a Certified 
Child Passenger Safety Technician or visit 
safetyseatva.org to view online videos of 
car seat installations. �

Once they are at least age 8 (legal 
minimum in VA); if child does not 
fit correctly in a seat belt, use a 
booster seat

m   ��The lap belt sits low and snug on �his/her thighs, 
�not on the stomach.

m   �The shoulder belt lies across the middle �of the 
shoulder, not on the neck, under the arm, or 
behind the back.

m   �My child can sit �with his/her 
back and hips firmly against 
the back of the seat without 
slouching during the whole ride. 

m   ��His/her knees are able to bend 
naturally over the edge of the 
seat and feet are touching the 
floor, without slouching.

m   �I know that my child is safer 
riding in the back seat until he/
she is at least 13 years old.
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Desde el nacimiento hasta los 2 años 
de edad o hasta que alcancen el límite 
de estatura o peso del asiento del auto.

m   �Yo sé que la Ley de Virginia requiere que los 
asientos de auto que miran hacia atrás se usen 
en la parte trasera y nunca en el asiento de 
adelante frente a una bolsa de aire activa.

m   �El asiento del auto se ajusta en el auto, 
utilizando el cinturón de seguridad o el sistema 
LATCH y no se mueve más de una pulgada 
cuando me tire en él.

m   �El asiento del auto se coloca 
en el ángulo correcto según 
lo indica el manual.

m   �Las correas del arnés estén 
ajustadas, rectas, planas, 
y se pasan a través de 
las ranuras que están al 
mismo nivel o por debajo 
de los hombros.

m   �La hebilla de pecho es en el 
mismo nivel que las axilas.

m   �No utilizo accesorios que no vienen con el 
asiento (cojines, espejos, juguetes, etc.)

La ley de Virginia requiere que todos 
los niños sean sujetados correctamente en el 
asiento de seguridad o asiento elevado hasta por 
lo menos los 8 años de edad. No hay un mínimo 
de estatura o peso asociado a la ley. Considere 
dejar sus niños de 8-12 años de edad, en un 
asiento elevado hasta que encajen correctamente 
en el cinturón de seguridad.

Una vez que tengan más de 2 años 
de edad o hayan superado el peso 
o límite de altura del asiento de 
seguridad que mira hacia atrás.

m   �Yo sé que mi hijo está más 
seguro cuando viajan en el 
asiento de atrás. 

m   �El asiento del auto se ajusta 
en el auto, utilizando el 
cinturón de seguridad o el 
sistema LATCH y no se mueve 
más de una pulgada cuando 
me tire en él.

m   �Yo uso el camino correcto  
para abrochar el asiento  
que mira hacia adelante en  
el vehículo.

m   �La correa de sujeción está unida al punto de 
anclaje correcto del vehículo, como se indica 
en el manual del usuario.

m   �Las correas del arnés estén ajustadas, rectas, 
planas, y se pasan a través de las ranuras que 
están al mismo nivel o por debajo de los hombros.

m   �La hebilla de pecho es en el mismo nivel que 
las axilas.

¡No deje que el costo se 
interponga en su camino!
Si usted es un residente de Virginia, y no es capaz 
de pagar un asiento de seguridad o asiento elevado 
para su hijo, usted puede calificar para la asistencia 
gratuita del Departamento de Salud de Virginia. 
Llame al 1-800-732-8333 o visite safetyseatva.org 
para conocer más.�

Una vez que han superado el límite de 
peso o altura del asiento de seguridad 
mirando hacia el frente.

m   ��Yo sé que mi hijo está más seguro cuando viaja 
en el asiento de atrás.

m   ��Mi niño está seguro en el asiento, por el 
cinturón del regazo y los hombros. 

m   �El cinturón de regazo debe quedar bajo y bien 
ajustado sobre sus muslos, 
no en el estómago.

m   �El cinturón del hombro 
se encuentra en el centro 
del pecho, no en el cuello, 
debajo del brazo o detrás de 
la espalda.

m   �El cinturón de seguridad es 
cómodo y plano. 

m   ��Sólo uso un asiento elevado 
sin respaldo cuando el 
asiento del vehículo tiene 
un reposacabezas.

¿Necesitas ayuda con la 
instalación del asiento de auto?
Visita a una estación de revisión seguridad de 
asientos de Virginia para que revisen la seguridad 
de su asiento por un técnico certificado de seguridad 
para niños pasajeros o visite safetyseatva.org para 
ver videos en línea de las instalaciones de asiento 
del auto.

Una vez que tengan por lo menos 8 
años de edad (mínimo legal en VA). Pero 
si el niño no se ajusta correctamente el 
cinturón de seguridad, use un asiento 
elevado por más tiempo.

m   ��El cinturón de regazo debe quedar bajo y bien 
ajustado sobre sus muslos, no en el estómago.

m   �El cinturón del hombro se encuentra en el 
centro del pecho, no en el cuello, debajo del 
brazo o detrás de la espalda.

m   �Mi hijo puede sentarse con 
la espalda y sus caderas 
firmemente contra el respaldo 
del asiento, sin encorvarse 
durante todo el recorrido.

m   ��Sus rodillas pueden doblarse 
naturalmente sobre el borde del 
asiento y los pies tocan el suelo, 
sin encorvarse.

m   �Yo sé que mi hijo está más 
seguro viajando en el asiento 
trasero hasta que él/ella tenga 
por lo menos 13 años de edad.
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